All Forums
 Help For Easy-PC Users
 Manufacturing Outputs
 "I can’t find a board outline"
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

jlawton

United Kingdom
107 Posts

Posted - 13 Apr 2023 :  11:13:25  Show Profile  Visit jlawton's Homepage  Reply with Quote
V26.0.1
I've just tried two board suppliers, OSHPark and Eurocircuits with a simple two layer board and they both report that the board outline is missing. This isn't an issue I've encountered before with anyone, including Eurocircuits who I have used before. [Board Outline] is included in all the layer plots.

OSHPark give this help info/suggestion:
https://docs.oshpark.com/design-tools/easy-pc/
Which I tried, but to no effect. The Gerbers look okay to me, so does anyone know what might be the issue please?

John

markpsu

USA
67 Posts

Posted - 13 Apr 2023 :  13:04:13  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I've been using Easy-PC for over 10 years and ordered boards from maybe 6-8 different vendors, and I've never had them report that the board outline wasn't there when I could confirm it with a gerber viewer.

If you haven't used a gerber viewer yet to double check it, I would start there. I use the free version of Gerber Viewmate.
Another option would be to export in ODB++ and resend.
Go to Top of Page

edrees

United Kingdom
766 Posts

Posted - 13 Apr 2023 :  13:07:03  Show Profile  Visit edrees's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Hi John,

I've had a SIMILAR issue with EuroCircuits from time to time, in that it reports "The Board Outline might be incorrect". This is despite the fact that I always include a "Mechanical" gerber plot with Dimensions and board outline only. They have never come back to me with a query when it goes into Production.

If you have verified the gerber plots with an independent viewer (UCAMCO is THE definitive viewer, but I also use Viewmate and DFM Now!) I would be quite confident that all is well. They would HAVE to (personally) get back to you if there was no pcb outline in the files!