General Issues
 Easy-pc and Linux
Previous Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 3

Ampdoctor

United Kingdom
24 Posts

Posted - 17 Aug 2019 :  11:57:16  Show Profile  Visit Ampdoctor's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Moved all our computers from XP to W10 a few years back.
Early on it would update regularly, I get the feeling it was released too early with quite a few issues / bugs.
Now it's solid and I've had no crashes or issues of any sort with it.

I know some folks dislike Microsoft (as I did when they released garbage like Win ME) however W10 has been stable and secure in the time I've been running it.

Now run a 4K dual screen with a Quadro 4000 video card, Easy PC is completely stable on it.
XP was OK, but used to hang occasionally, seemed like it was a minute before the auto save.
Go to Top of Page

dhaen

United Kingdom
2 Posts

Posted - 21 Jul 2020 :  20:41:00  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I have been using EasyPC since 1987 so its commands are my "muscle memory" - just a refresh when new features arrive.
I moved away from Microsoft in 2001 but still had to have an MS box available for my most important app.
I've tested each release of WINE for compatibility and performance with disappointment, until now.
Finally WINE performs acceptably and I can run EasyPC. I've completed one design without any hiccups and I'm so pleased.
I should point out that I'm using WINE on MacOS, though Linux results should be similar.
Are there any differences from W10? Yes: Crashes do occur but less frequently. There are some small (but not significant to me) display differences.
I realise that there is no guarantee that WINE will perform with future versions of EasyPC but I'm taking a chance and disposing of my MS box.
I can understand why the EasyPC team can't migrate to another OS, so this is a perfect compromise.
Go to Top of Page

shadders

United Kingdom
223 Posts

Posted - 11 Nov 2020 :  11:46:45  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi,